McGregor High School athletes were recognized at the 2019 Fall Sports Awards Banquet held on Thursday, Nov. 21. Coaches and assistants provided letters and awards of excellence to student participants in cheerleading, volleyball, football and cross country.

Allison Paquette and Serena Litwin, cheerleading coaches, presented the award for most improved cheerleader to Emily Johnson and for most spirited to Gillian Farinella.

Junior varsity volleyball coaches Jordan Pierce and Brooke Sorensen explained the team had chosen the theme “resilience” this year. They presented the award for team leader to Jaylynn Maijala, the hustle award to Kaelyn Tierney, most reliable server to Savanah Bidwell and the resilience award to Josee Kellermann.

Varsity volleyball awards were presented by coaches Jenna Geyen and Michelle Gauthier to Brooklyn Alt for best offensive player, Hailey Maas for best defensive player, Haylee Kellermann and Jordan Paquette for the hustle award (tie), Gianna Farinella for the resilience award and Emma Arnold for most valuable player. Arnold also was voted in to the Polar League All-Star Team.

In his first season of coaching cross country Josh Sampson and assistant Tim Arnold commented on their season. Sampson explained that junior varsity athletes run an average of 12 miles a week while varsity members average 12-17 miles per week in practice alone. Kiana Hawkinson was awarded a letter in cross country for placing eighth in competition out of approximately 200 participants. This is the third season for the cross country program in McGregor.

Varsity and junior varsity football coaches, Bob Staska, Jon Jacobs and Bryce Koehler, presented awards and letters to McGregor Mercs football players. Awards were presented for best defensive lineman to Curtis Jackson and for best defensive back to Drew Dean. Dean was also awarded best offensive back and most valuable player. Dante Benjamin was awarded most improved player. Senior Laine Horton was awarded best offensive lineman and was the recipient of the pride award, which is given to the senior who has displayed pride in himself, the football program, within the community and the school.

All-district awards are decided by coaches in the sub-district. Receiving honorable mention were Colton Anderson, Willie Glunz and Ethan Bohn. Seniors Alex Henry and Laine Horton and junior Drew Dean were named to the 9-man North All-District Team.

During the course of the evening, all coaches thanked the multitude of people who make sports possible in the McGregor School District by providing assistance in a wide variety of capacities.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.